Skip to main content

First Fast Day



I finished my first fast day on Wednesday 7th January and it was pretty easy. I know a few people on this same diet struggle with the first fast but I find I can survive quite happily on a day of tea and a few nibbles of raw veg.
I did a lot of reading on the forums and while the idea of the diet is that you fast for two days and eat “normally” on your off days I felt I needed to make a concerted effort to remain within my Total Daily Energy Expenditure (TDEE). It’s all very well blaming weight gain on any number of reasons but most of us (whether you admit to anyone but yourself) know that the reason we are overweight is because we ate too much, our idea of portion control is somewhat skewed or we snack indiscriminately.
I have created a spread sheet in excel (I’m feeling so proud, I used formulas and everything) I’ll post it if anyone would like it, It’s reasonably simple but it allows me to keep an eye on what I’m putting in my body on a daily basis and exactly how much I had left.
I’m starting this weight loss strategy with the prescribed 5:2 ratio so that when I hit the inevitable plateau I have somewhere to go, I can drop down to 4:3 and then again to Alternate Day Fasting (ADP). With nearly 70 lbs to lose to get within my “healthy” weight range I know I’ll hit that plateau more than once.

Happy Trails People

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Hot Weather:Activity Ratio - It's terrible

No matter how determined you might be, when the weather gets too hot, motivation to move goes way down (unless you have a strange fetish for being drenched in your own sweat). Hot weather has thoroughly beaten us here in Cyprus. While we're used to the usual Mediterranean climate, this year has been weird. Winter, winter, (can't be bothered with Spring) mild winter... Crap, it's May already. Here have SUMMER! And BOOM! Straight from low 20s to high 30s (that's degrees Celcius) in just a couple of days. I won't lie, it has drenched me in my own cooling fluid for nearly a week, and my motivation to move has been somewhere subterranean. Just as I had gotten into a routine of walking and quick bursts of high-intensity activity, I now have no desire to move at all. Don't Beat Yourself Up I have a half-baked theory that we shouldn't try to push ourselves too hard in extreme temperatures. I'm heavy, and like many others who struggle with their weight, it ...

Sunday 18th January

I’ve had a naughty but perhaps not so naughty weekend, we had a Domino’s meal for dinner on Saturday night and I also shared a bottle of wine with my hubby on Friday, however on neither day did I exceed my TDEE (yay!). This week I’m replacing normal milk with almond milk (400ml = 100kcal) on my fast days, as an experiment into whether I will do as well on the fasting if I manage to eat, rather than just drink, the daily <500kcal. Tomorrow is a fast day so it will be a good day to try it. I’ve had soup today, it might not sound exciting but there is something really comforting about chicken soup with crusty wholegrain bread, especially when it’s cold outside. I have also discovered quinoa and bulgur wheat (yes, yes I know all about “wheat belly” but I can’t give it up completely and bulgur wheat is classed as a whole grain). A wonderful dish, that my neighbour taught me how to make, is pougouri pilaf . It can be eaten as it’s made or you can add meat or ...

Running – Oh My GOD!

I’m not a runner, I have monumentally knackered knees, a VERY large bosom and I suffer from perpetual fear of ridicule. I’m fat, you know this if you’ve been reading my posts, and I hate exercising where people can see me, I feel ridiculous. That feeling that you are completely surrounded by fit, thin people, all of whom are judging you for allowing yourself to be so unfit and overweight. In practice I’m sure this isn’t true (almost sure).  I’m going to start running on Monday. Okay scratch that I’m going to start walking with brief periods of running thrown in to get me started. It’s not much but it’s a start and I’m pretty sure my knees are never going to get strong enough to run unless I start to run. My main issue is bounce, I have a single sports bra that stops the bounce but it’s not all that comfortable because I feel like a trussed up turkey. The problem is that I feel like I’ve been tied and bound in all the sports bras I’ve ever tried. I’ve tried running ...